Categorized | News

Mayoral Runoff, 5 New Alderman, No on Sales Tax

Millington Alderman-elect Larry Dagen and Hank Hawkins are congratulated by party-goers moments after the votes were officially counted.

Tonight Ken Uselton sat in the Ballroom of the Millington Holiday Inn with the most votes in the Millington Mayoral race. But he didn’t have the 50 percent plus one to be the mayor-elect.

Uselton will be in a runoff with Terry Jones after the two candidates finished first and second in the race. Debra Sigee came in third, but received enough votes to force a runoff between Uselton and Jones.

There were also seven alderman spots up in the air when the night began. And two historical elections took place, with Frankie Dakin beating Don Lowry to become the youngest alderman in Millington’s history at 20 years old.

Thomas McGhee’s win in the Position 5 race made him the first black alderman in Flag City history. Joining McGhee and Dakin (Position 3) as aldermen-elect are Bethany Huffman, Hank Hawkins, Larry Dagen, Chris Ford and Mike Caruthers.

Ford and Caruthers were re-elected to Positions 6 and 7, respectively. Dagen was able to secure 60 percent of the vote and avoid a runoff for Position 4.

Across the county, the municipalities had on the ballot a sales tax and school referendum. Millington was the only city not to pass the sales tax referendum. It was defeated by three votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


August 2012
« Jul   Sep »