Categorized | News, Sports

Stewart & Macon among best in state

By Bill Sorrell

Patrick Macon

Patrick Macon

Logan Stewart

Logan Stewart

Shelby-Metro football players continue to be recognized.
After playing in all-star games and finalists for Tennessee’s Mr. Football award, players were named to the Tennessee Sports Writers’ Association all-state team in six classifications plus Division II-A and AA.
ECS places three players on the Division II-A team: defensive lineman Christian Rosenberger and defensive backs Christian Lewis and Harrison Cox. St. George’s running back Chase Hayden, a finalist for Mr. Football Back, and offensive lineman Jacob Still are among the 23 all-state in that division.
In Division II-AA, there are 47 on the all-state list. St. Benedict is represented by linebacker Joey Magnifico, defensive back Colton Cochran and wide receiver Tyler Currie. Tennessee’s Mr. Football Lineman winner Drew Richmond , Mr. Football Back finalist Colton Neel and defensive lineman Peyton Jones represent MUS.

Christian Saulsberry of Northpoint Christian School is among the Division II-AA all-state Athletes. Briarcrest linebacker Nick Pope and Christian Brothers defensive back Cameron Sanders are All-State.
In Class 1A, Drew Van de Vuurst is named an All-State Athlete. While he plays for Collierville in Class 6A he is listed in that classification. Several players are listed in different classifications than which they play.
Class 3A includes offensive lineman Phillips Haynes of Manassas
In Class 4A, Gabriel Scott of Trezevant is defensive back All-State.
In Class 5A, Earl Harrison of Ridgeway is all-state running back. He led Shelby-Metro in rushing this season. Wide receiver Jonathan Johnson of Melrose, linebacker Patrick Macon of Millington, defensive back Kyland Tate of Memphis East are All-State.
Class 6A has quarterback Jared Schmidt of Houston, Athlete Dillon Mitchell of White Station,  defensive lineman Eric Kemp of Bolton, defensive lineman Quinton Bohanan of Cordova, linebacker Joshua McMillon of Whitehaven, who was a Mr. Football Lineman finalist, linebacker Jonathan Mabone of Arlington, linebacker Hunter Clay of Arlington, defensive back Andre Jones of Memphis Central, defensive backs Donte Vaughn of Whitehaven, Sean Williams of Cordova, Sidney Austin of Arlington, Austin Hall of Collierville.

John “Bull” Bramlett Award
Quarterback Logan Stewart of Tipton-Rosemark Academy won the John “Bull” Bramlett award that is sponsored by the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.
Stewart, who had 1,387 all-purpose yards and 16 touchdowns while also playing running back and made 62 tackles at defensive back, six interceptions and three forced fumbles, led the Rebels. He was team captain and was a defensive back on the Blue team in the AutoZone Liberty Bowl High School All-Star game.  He attends Christ Church in Arlington.
The award, named for the late Bramlett who played at Memphis State and was an all-Pro linebacker, is for the Shelby-Metro athlete who best exemplifies excellence on the field as well as high character, integrity and godliness.
Jonathan Bowlan of Bartlett, Drew White of Germantown, Nick Pope of Briarcrest were finalists, all seniors.
The 11th annual award is sponsored by Brim’s Snack Foods and was presented at the FCA/AutoZone Liberty Bowl prayer breakfast at the Hilton. Former Florida State coach Bobby Bowden was the event speaker.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


January 2015
« Dec   Feb »