Categorized | Education & Safety, News

Calvin’s Broadcasting Class uses MEF money to showcasing program in halls

By Thomas Sellers Jr.

Broadcasting TVs class Broadcasting TVs hallBack in December the Millington Education Foundation rewarded more than $11,000 to the four Millington Municipal Schools of EA Harrold Elementary, Millington Elementary, Millington Middle School and Millington Central High School.
Part of MCHS’ grant money went to the Broadcasting program and instructor Marshonn Calvin. After consulting with MCHS Principal Clint Durley, the Broadcasting program used its $750 on Sony DVD players and TV mounts for three televisions.
In Calvin’s classroom there is a 32-inch flat screen Vizio. And in the main hallway of the school is two 42-inch flat screen Vizio monitors displaying the work of Calvin’s students.
“The purpose of the purchase is to showcase Trojan TV, programs we’ve been working on and highlights of Trojan sports and academics to showcase to the public.”
The debut of the two large monitors to the general public came March 31 during Eighth Grade Night at MCHS. Calvin’s class put together a 15-minute video highlighting Trojan culture for the incoming freshmen. Some of the highlights are of the choir, sports, the administration, teachers and more.
Calvin noted plans are to get two more televisions upstairs by next school year. The program is looking forward to addition growth in facilities, community outreach and featuring student work in national competitions.
Durley said it is important to get the Broadcasting program more visual to the student population and the residents of Millington. Calvin noted the most recent investment in the program will inspire his current and future students.
“It is a boost to them,” he concluded. “The students realize now they have an outlet for their work that takes time, effort and dedication. We have a lot of good things going on.”
The 2014-15 Trojan TV crew members were Lydia Moody, Destinee Payne, Elijah Kirkland, Delisa Tolbert, Kala Lemon, Gregory Harris, Miguela Moss, Reaven Mabry, Levia Rivera, Leon Love, Raven Warner, Kelsey Mayo, Grant Lester, April Sosa, Erin Brown, Jherika Brown, Miracle Mayes, Spencer Gala, Bria Barnes, Tadarius Jenkins, Jessica Tackett, Houston DePriest, DeAnthony Christopher, Adrianne Allen, Andrew Bland, Lisette Alaniz, Cody Cox, Salvador Sauceda, Chandler Wood, Breana Maclin, Claude Johnson, Tamela Woods, Kadasha Allen, Marshonn Calvin and the administrators of MCHS.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


June 2015
« May   Jul »