Categorized | Education & Safety, News

MCHS’ holiday harmony fills Civic Center

By Thomas Sellers Jr.

Calvin Ellis

Calvin Ellis

Sounds of Season candlelight Sounds of Season jazz Sounds of Season Main Pic

Megan Woodring

Megan Woodring

Sounds of Season men's singers Sounds of Season warmupThe Millington Central High School Choir and Band presented Sounds of the Season last Thursday night in the Harvell (Millington) Civic Center in front of packed venue.
The holiday night began with the lights turned off throughout the Civic Center and the voices of the Spirit of MCHS singing Silent Night from above with soft candlelight. After Director of Choirs Calvin Ellis made his way downstairs to the stage, he joined colleague and Director of Bands Megan Woodring to conduct the full concert.
Cantabile was next to perform a pair of songs “Let It Snow” and “Mrs. Claus.” Soloists were Amya Madlock, Juliette Ragland, Ambrienne Benton and Morgan Murphy.
The Men’s Choir followed performing “Blue Christmas” and “Fum, Fum, Fum” with soloist Carlos Velez and banjo by Dalton Fitzgerald.
Then it was time for Woodring’s students to take center stage starting with the Jazz Band. The members of the ensemble wore shades, Santa hats and elf gear to perform “Sugar Plum Swing” featuring a tenor sax solo from Gena Parker.
The Jazz Band’s second selection was “Hark, Those Herald Angels Rock!”
Once again the lights were dimmed for the MCHS members of the All-West Tennessee Choirs to sing just below the main stage. Four of the five students were present to sing “The Little Drummer Boy.” Ellis recognized Cassidy Floyd, Haleigh Boykin, Sam Johnson, Kenneth Collier and Donavon Hughes.
The Spirit of MCHS finally made their way to the main stage to perform “Here We Come a Caroling.” Next to the stage was the Symphonic Band performing “Veni, Veni (O Come, O Come, Emmanuel)” and “A Family Christmas.” Hughes had a trumpet solo during “Home For the Holidays and I’ll Be Home for Christmas!”
Woodring conducted two more selections with the Symphonic Band, “Snowfall” and “A Christmas Tale — Beware The Krampus” with Aaron Dechant narrating.
Then the evening concluded with the MCHS Chorale singing “Jazz Gloria,” “Carol of the Bells,” “Angels We Have Heard on High,” and “Glory to the Newborn King.”
The Chorale and Band collaborated for the final performance of the night “Silent Night.”
The MCHS Chorale members are Brittney Allen, Taylor Allen, Annaylin Aarambula, Alyssa Ayers, Lauren Bailey, Star Blackshire, Haleigh Boykin, Karyme Brooks, Mya Burnett, Lanette Carbajal, Zachary Carpenter, Danny Chandler, Arianna Clement, Kenneth Collier, Sarah Cook, Gracie Crandall, Jeremiah Eulls, Nyla Farmer, Briana Fields, Cassidy Floyd, Jayla Gannaway, Luis Gonzalez, Kelsey Griffin, Avonie-Marie Guiterrez, Stacey Hall, Brittany Henderson, Donavon Hughes, Arli Jacobo, Sam Johnson, T’Kya Johnson, Marie Keller, Jonathan Mattox, Romeo Mays, Mackenzie McCrae, Kaitlyn Mickey, Hannah Oglesby, Ashlyanna Ortiz, Nena Parker, Ky’Shawn Peoples, Courtney Porter, Chloe Riegert, Anna Sagieon, Chelsey Sims, Jhonae Swain, Demoine Thomas, Krishonna Thomas, Carlos Velez, Reagan Walker, Ciera Watson, Devenna Watson, Sedebra Watson, Sha’Mya Williamson, Ashley Woodard and Anna Wright.
The Spirit of MCHS members are Lazaro Aleman, Lauren Bailey, Haleigh Boykin, Mya Burnett, Danny Chandler, Kenneth Collier, Sarah Cook, Gracie Crandall, Dalton Fitzgerald, Cassidy Floyd, Luis Gonzalez, Ahli Jacobo, Sam Johnson, Marie Keller, Romeo Mays, Mackenzie McCrae,  Jhonae Swain and Anna Wright.
The Men’s Choir members are Chris-Daniel Bayran, Zachary Carpenter, Danny Chandler, Kenneth Collier, Tre Dean, John Dumas, Kapell Eugene, Jeremiah Eulls, Luis Gonzalez, Christopher Henderson, Sam Johnson, Logan Kidwell, Jonathan Mattox, Romeo Mays, Davis Parks, Ky-Shawn Peoples, Jackson Powell, Jacob Stokes and Carlos Velez.
The Cantabile members are Brittney Allen, Ambrienne Benton, Chloe Braithwaite, Sierra Brown, Mikaila Davenport, Kyndel Dunn, Darnisha Gatewood, Gracie Celston, Ruth Ann Gilley, Delaney Grayson, Courtney Holmes, Kaylee Hubbard, Amya Madlock, Jennifer McCullough, Zondra McKinney, Morgan Murphy, Phoenix Olson, Julette Ragland, Anna Saigeon, Darcia Slaughter, Kaitlynn Smith, Teriana Smith, Emma-Leigh Stafford, Abreonna Turner and Janessah Watkins.
The MCHS Jazz Band members are Artis Hardaway (flute), Gracie Reyes (clarinet), Taliyah Chalmers, Gena Parker and Caleb Plunk (saxophones), Scott Drenning, Donavon Hughes, Jacob McGarvey, and Donnie Young (trumpets), Layne Barker, Quinn Cox, Daniel Holcomb and Cullen Shoemaker (low brass), Justin Eugene and Daniel Young (percussion).
The MCHS Symphonic Band members are Artis Hardaway, Harley Hall, Samarra Davis, Libby Bethea, Devin Smith, Gullen Shoemaker, Anahi Najera, Kimberly Mireles and amy Kingcaid (flute), Elisha Wakefield, Jerry Theuns, Amanda Reeves,  Gracie Reyes, Genevieve Payne, and Saige Black (clarinet), Dominic Sawin (bass clarinet), Jacob McGarvey (French horn), Gena Parker, Caleb Plunk, Taliyah Chalmers and Jayden Warner (saxophones), Donavon Hughes, Donnie Young, Scott Drenning and India Parker (trumpets), Kapell Eugene, Elijah Riley and Joseph Nutzell (trombone), Layne Barker, Quinn Cox and Daniel Holcomb (euphonium), Maurice Wooten (tuba), Tashanna Robinson, Julia Merkle and Jennifer Fitz (color guard), Catera Dalton, Daniel Young, Justin Eugene, Genevieve Payne, Khi Martin, Jamarrius Chisum, Jayden Warner and Tyler Bryson (percussion).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments


December 2017
« Nov   Jan »